Space University of Florida - The Foundation of the Gator Nation
University of Florida College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Quantum Theory Project Layman's Guide to Quantum Theory

Quantum Theory Project

Psi Quantum Theory Project is one of the world's largest research centers for theory, modelling, and computation of complex, novel molecular and materials systems. We focus on the subtle, profound interplay of chemical, physical, and biological realism, develop quantum mechanical methods, and implement them in innovative software. Founded in 1960 by Prof. Per-Olov Lowdin, we operate the world-renowned Sanibel Symposia. QTP is home of the editorial office of Advances in Quantum Chemistry and a specialist editor office of Computer Physics Communications. The director is Dr. Rod Bartlett. We are an institute of the Depts. of Physics and Chemistry of the University of Florida.

News & Announcements

Dr. Adrian Roitberg was elected as Fellow of APS this week, through the Division of Biological Physics.

The citation reads "For his contribution to the development of advanced sampling techniques in molecular dynamics, and his involvement in new force fields and computer programs to model biomolecular systems".

Prof. Rod Bartlett was selected as the Lise Meitner Lecturer for 2013 for his pioneering coupled-cluster and many-body perturbation theories for electron correlation in atoms, molecules, and solids. Awarded since 1998, the lectureship is a distinction given by the Lise Meitner-Minvera Center in Israel to a prominent quantum chemist whose work has had an important impact on the chemical community.

In addition to the principal lecture that was presented at the Computational Chemistry Symposium held November 3, 2013, at the Weismann Institute of Science, he gave three additional invited lectures. The first was to the chemistry department at the Weizmann Institute in Rehoboth, the second at Hebrew University in Jerusalem, and the third at the Technion in Haifa.

The Lectureship is named is named for Lise Meitner, an Austrian-born, later Swedish, physicist who shared the Enrico Fermi Award in 1966, with fellow chemists Otto Hahn and Fritz Strassmann, for their collaborative work on the discovery of uranium fission. She remains one of the most important figures in the fields of radioactivity and nuclear physics. The name of the chemical element, meitnerium (Mt), was suggested in Meitner's honor, who is also widely credited as the discoverer of protactinium

The Center for Computational Quantum Chemistry was established by the Minerva Foundation of the Max Plank Institute (Germany) in 1997 as a joint effort between Hebrew University in Jerusalem and the Technion Institute in Haifa.

Rod Bartlett, Graduate Research Professor, Quantum Theory Project, was honored by the Seventh Molecular Quantum Mechanics (MQM) meeting in Lugano, CH, June 2-7, 2013. The topic was "Electron Correlation: The Many-Body Problem at the Heart of Chemistry," a field that Prof. Bartlett has pioneered. The meeting attracted 330 scientists. Dr. Ajith Perera of QTP was one of the 69 plenary speakers, while Mr. Alex Bazanté and Mr. Matt Strasberg, graduate students in Bartlett's group presented two of the 200 poster presentations. In addition 40 other former Bartlett group members were in attendance as speakers, chairs, organizers, or participants. Previous MQM meetings have honored the notable quantum chemists, John Pople, Ernest Davidson, Isaiah Shavitt, Nick Handy, Peter Pulay, and Henry Shafer.

The 54th Sanibel Symposium is being planned. Please watch the Sanibel Web Site for further details.

   More news 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012

More on the Quantum Theory Project

   Address: 2234 New Physics Building #92
PO Box 118435
Gainesville, FL 32611-8435
Phone: (352) 392-1597
Fax: (352) 392-8722
E-mails: "lastname"

>> top


Space Space Space
Have a Question? Contact us.
Last Updated 9/16/2012

University of Florida